Joyland

cover_smallI just finished reading Stephan King’s latest novel ‘Joyland’. Was it a masterpiece, you ask? Nah. Was it up there with ‘The Shining’ or ‘It’? Nah. But was it good, yup, damn good. When I finished it I put the book down and cried like a baby (well maybe not a baby, but I did spill a tear or two and have to blow my nose).

Now I know we don’t usually associate tear jerkers with Stephen King, more like “Holy shit, I am to scared to get up and go to the bathroom now, I am never gonna get to sleep”, but he has written two books for a small press company called Hardcase Crime. The first was called “The Colorado Kid” and “Joyland” is the second. Both good books but like I said, not your typical King books. Hardcase Crime is putting out these old fashion pulp fiction crime books, from reviews I have read they are doing a good job. It is worth checking out their site just to see the retro book covers, very well done.

Now I am not a book reviewer, I am sure Hardcase Crime does not need my endorsement, and really sure Stephan King could give a fat rats ass about what I think of his latest book. However, this is the last thing I am going to do before I get ready to go back to work after a two week vacation. To say I am bummed to go back to work is a huge understatement. Since I have begun working at the company I am presently at all those years ago, I have only taken 2 weeks in a row off one other time. This is because it is so damn hard to go back, like a mini depression!! But hell suck it up big boy, in a day or two I’ll be back into the swing of things and it will be like I was never on vacation. Your eye will be twitching and your shoulders will be constantly bunched up, everything back to normal. Do I have to go on here or are you catching what I am throwing out there. Oh well, that is life right? I bought Joyland in Whitby, Ontario while I was visiting my wife’s cousin (who made us feel welcome and like the two most important people in the world, thank you so much!) just my son and I. We had a three day road trip, it was awesome. My son will probably forget about it as soon as he goes back to school in September, that is ok, that is youth. But I won’t and to make sure I don’t I will keep Joyland around as a reminder, just in case. Sometimes life is rough like going back to work after 2 weeks of vacation, but sometimes life is grand, like cruising down the 401 with the windows open, radio on, and son in the back seat talking.

Gus

Leave a Reply

