The Greatest Show on Earth!

circusThere are a few things in everyone’s life that brings them right back to their youth. It might be a place, it might be a person, it might be a song, but when it comes along all of the sudden you feel like a kid again. I think it is something that we seek out and why not, we all want to feel young agan. I have a couple of things that come to mind, some I can write about and some I can’t, but one of the things that bring memories flooding back to me rolled into town this past weekend.

“Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages…..” The Circus came to town.

The Shriners Circus to be precise. When we were kids we went religiously. We never had alot of money but my mother believed in the cause and bought the tickets. She did this all of her life, even when we grew up she still bought Circus tickets every year. Then I had my girls and my mother would take them to the Circus. When my mom passed away it was not something that ever crossed my mind again until last week when the Big Tent went up and I could smell the Circus. Oh you know the smell, Cotton Candy and Elephant shit all rolled up together, and smelling that smell brought back so many great memories for me. It also made me realize that my son had never witnessed the greatest show on earth.

With a bit of a push from my wife I got off my ass grabbed my boy and off we went. First of all the Circus is a bit more expensive than it used to be when I was a kid, not that I bought the tickets or anything back then, but I had to buy them now. Once you are in I gotta warn you, everything is 5 bucks. You want a hot dog, 5 bucks, you want pop corn, 5 bucks, you want a snow cone, 5 bucks, except for the Elephant rides, those are 10 bucks. As we sat under the big top waiting for the show to start I will admit, I had a bit of a guilty vibe going on about the animals and the stories about the mistreatment they endure. Kind of like eating meat, you want to eat it but you don’t want to think about where it came from (That is a whole debate we can get into if you like, sent me an email and we will talk)Then the lights went off, the spot light hit the center ring and there was the Ringmaster. I was gone, I was eight years old again! The tigers were next and I looked at my son, his eyes were huge as he watched. The clowns, the acrobats, trapeze artists, it was all there and it was all the same as it was 30 years ago. Somethings don’t change.

Gus

Leave a Reply

