Birthday Blues? Not this Guy

IMG_0539[1]

Photo courtesy of Mrs. Gus

When did turning on the air conditioner become better than opening the windows? I said to my wife as we rolled down the highway the other day. I won’t write here reply here, but it made me laugh, that is probably why we’ve been married so long, we make each other laugh.

My birthday is fast approaching. I have no problem with turning 46, as long as…well I will get back to that in a moment. The only age I ever had a problem with was 30, for some reason in my mind turning 30 was the definitive “you are now a grown up!” age. But 46, HA! (I scoff), a walk in the park. However, birthdays make you reflect. Has it been a good year? Have I moved forward or backward this year? Have I become wiser, am I happy with where I am, should I make some major alterations in my life or steady as she goes?

As we get into middle age (although some people call their 50’s middle age, I don’t get it, lets face it how many of us live to a hundred), you do feel your mortality. It is not a blaring bill board, but you realize there is an end of the road. That is not a bad thing, not unless you are unhappy with where you are and where you’ve been. Do not worry I am not going to launch into a “The Power is in YOU!” speech, but I will say there is still time. As long as you woke up this morning there is still time. So long as there is still time, there is still time for change. If there is still time for change, there are still things to look forward to and work towards (are you still following me here).

That being said, as I have grown older I have also learned to experience the moment. This one was harder for me to grasp. It is something I have had to work on and am so glad I have slowed down a bit to appreciate things I would have totally missed 10 years ago. I have learned so much in my 46 years but I have so much left to learn. You know how that old saying goes, “I have learned enough to know I don’t anything”.

So I am turning 46 and I have no problem with that as long as… I remember to open the car windows sometimes to feel the wind, run in the house, turn the music up to loud, laugh out loud lots, dance in the kitchen when I am cooking…….

Gus

3 thoughts on “Birthday Blues? Not this Guy

  1. The Machines want us to become dependent on the Air Conditioning. It’s part of their plan for The Robot Apocalypse. 🙂 My car’s AC has been busted forever, so I just open the windows and let the Maine wind keep me cool…

Leave a Reply

