Life’s little questions

Courtesy of Mrs. Gus

Courtesy of Mrs. Gus

Have you ever wondered if you are doing what it is you are supposed to be doing? Wait, I am jumping in right in the middle, let me back up and start at the beginning.

As I am sure most of us can attest to, life can be rather chaotic sometimes and down right boring others, that is life. There never seems to be a happy medium where we just coast with a smile on our face and say “life is grand ain’t it”. There are moments like that, sure, but they are fleeting at best, for most of us.

I have reached a point in my life where things have settled somewhat and allow me a chance to reflect. Gone are the days of “what am I going to do with my life?” Being young is not easy, granted, there are so many choices, so many paths to take. So much anxiety about taking the wrong one and winding up somewhere you do not want to be, or somewhere you think you do not want to be. While you are making all those choices you need to grow up at the same time. There are two saying that always come to mind when I think of being young “I wish I knew then what I know now” and “Youth is wasted on the young”.

So you make your choices and you wind up where you wind up, which I think I am safe to say, is not where most of us think they are going to wind up. I would love to know how many people have the job they thought they would have when they were in school. My guess is not many or the world would be overrun with rock stars, princesses, astronauts and private detectives. So take heart you are not alone.

This brings me to my question, “have you ever wondered if you are doing what it is you are supposed to be doing?”. Many people I talk to consider their day to day life quite humdrum. Get up, got to work, come home watch some TV or get on the Laptop for a bit, go to bed, get up, go to work, come home, …… you get the picture. Guess when you put it that way it does seem somewhat mundane. However, I am a very firm believer in “life is what you make it”. I also think that if you have a roof over your head, enough in your belly and are relatively healthy you are allowed to complain, but not that much.

But what if you are here for a purpose? I do not mean to procreate and keep mankind going, I mean for a specific purpose. Maybe you have a child that will have a child that will help find a cure for a terrible disease. Maybe you will give you seat to someone on the bus today, and due to this act of kindness they will hold a door open for someone, who will….once again, you get the picture, and you have heard it before. But really the possibilities are endless. Maybe the thing you are here to do was done on the day you were born, or maybe you will do it on the day you die, who knows. Maybe the act you are here for will be less than a second or maybe it is a series of things that will take your whole life to complete.

then again, maybe I am just a guy hoping it all mean something.

Gus

3 thoughts on “Life’s little questions

Leave a Reply

