A Good Reminder

MotelLast weekend I help my daughter move the last of her things into her new place. She is officially moved out! It took us three weekends to move her out of her bedroom and into her little 2 and a half, using mostly my 2004 Hyundai Accent.  Where did all the stuff come from? Your guess is as good as mine. A gal sure can cram a lot of stuff in a bedroom, that’s for sure.

She also turned 20 years old last week so I imagine it was quite a week for her. Twenty years old is a good age, so much in front of you, the possibilities are, quite literally, endless. Watching her settling in to her new place, I tried to think back to when I was 20. I can remember where I was at that time and what I was doing, but I would love to be able to remember my thoughts.

When I asked her what she wanted for her birthday she said she wanted money towards a pair of boots she is saving up for. This is something my wife and I encourage, having your kids save for something they want instead of just buying it for them. I told her I would give her a hundred buck towards them and she said 50, we haggled back and forth. At the end she said 60 bucks and I had to take her to do her first groceries without any complaining. It was tough but I managed.motel 2

Not far from her new apartment there is a Motel. It is the kind of Motel that people rent by the month or the hour. Oh you know the kind, every city has them. It is far enough from her place that it did not put me into cardiac arrest but close enough that I wasn’t getting the warm and fuzzies either. As we passed it I pulled over to take a couple of photos. My daughter asked me why. To be honest with you I wasn’t even sure why. The motel reminded me of how things might have turned out. Sometimes life doesn’t work out the way we see it as a 20 year old. I just wanted my daughter to notice that what we think of as far away is sometimes just around the corner.

Gus

3 thoughts on “A Good Reminder

  1. Life is scary and watching the children we love grow and take on the world is one of those scary moments. But we have to let them fly out of the nest. Not to far but out of the nest. Good luck. The worry never stops and we are now worried for the grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

