Daisy Antiques

daisy 1

 

One thing about getting older is that things around you change. Change is a good thing, but sometimes it is sad to see things go. I have been living on the island of Ile Perrot, on and off, for over 25 years. First alone as a young man, then with a wife and children.

As you come over the bridge from Montreal onto the island the first thing you see is Daisy Antiques, it has been there as long as I can remember, as long as I have been coming to Ile Perrot. One day, not long ago,  as my wife and I headed into Montreal she turned to me and said “Look!” and there was a sign at Daisy Antiques “For Sale”.

daisy 2

 

I couldn’t believe it. Once I thought about it I was not all that surprised. It had been quite a few years since business was booming at Daisy’s. The center of town had moved over the years and sort left Daisy on the outskirt. But somethings you just think will always be there. Another reason to not take things for granted I guess.

Gus

3 thoughts on “Daisy Antiques

  1. What a thought provoking post. You are so right!

    We must not take things or people for granted, because life can change in an instant. And life seems to fly by and changes occur and we age. So we must enjoy the moments in today. 🙂 We must make good memories today. 🙂

    I love antique stores and thrift shops. I often think about all the “treasures” in them…who owned them before, what their story/history is, how old they are, etc. 🙂 I often “rescue” things from those stores…things that I remember from my childhood…I think those things are not old enough to be considered antiques 😉 so I take t them home to enjoy. 🙂

    HUGS to you and your precious family!
    Carolyn 🙂

  2. If we are healthy, happy and can hang around long enough I suppose we will see many things we did not expect.

    Time, growth and tradition are all included.

    We must learn not to be afraid of change, to be educated by it.

    When new things leave, become unused and unwanted we must ponder the idea of change in our lives.

    Take care, be warm and kind.

    xo Gay

Leave a Reply

