Attitude Adjustment

A_fallen_bike_by_wulfila

A fallen bike by wulfila

Last Monday I started to write a post, it was about going back to work after vacation. I was pretty bummed, as I am sure most of you can relate to, going back to work after time off can suck a bit. Here is a paragraph from the post.

“I am back to work this morning after a weeks vacation, it is always a tough go going back. Seems like that are a million things you wanted to get done that didn’t get done but you also didn’t have a chance to really relax. Once the body actually begins to adapt and wake up a little later, it’s time to go back to work.”

So I left the house, feeling kind of crappy. About 6 blocks from my house there is a big park in  which day camps are held, right beside the park is a school. As I passed behind the school I saw a car stopped in the middle of the street. On the side of the street there was an older gentleman bent over a young girl. I pulled over immediately and jumped out to see if there was anything I could do. I asked the man to call an ambulance as he seemed pretty much in shock and just kept repeating “I didn’t see her!”. As he called 911 as I bent down to see if the young lady was conscious. She was sort of dazed but was breathing and making sounds. As she came around she began to cry, she had broken some teeth, and had a bunch of scrapes and bruises. We sat together as she cried, talked and called her mom as we waited for the ambulance. When the ambulance arrived, I told her to take care and her mom would be there soon, and continued onto work. A few blocks away I had to pull over for a moment and call my wife while my hands stopped shaking.

Going to work was not such a big deal afterwards, sure put things in perspective.

Gus

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

