Here We Are Again

images8Q6K6TTCThe end of another year approaches. Some will be happy it’s done, seeing it as a closing. Others look at it as a beginning, out with the old and in with the new. Then some see it as nothing more than a few days vacation. Me? I see it as an opportunity.

A realization comes to you as you get a little longer in the tooth, there are only so many ‘New Years’ left in front of you. Once you come to grips with this realization, and it ain’t easy, you can say to yourself, “ok self, what are we gonna do with them?”.

The trick is to try something new. What is something that you have always wanted to try? Is there something that needs finishing? Somewhere you want to go? Something you have been putting off? It doesn’t have to be something huge, some life changing, epic undertaking, but it can be. Sometimes just by making the decision to do something new will change your life. Sounds cheesy I know but it’s true.

Lets start with me. Last year I learned to play the mandolin. As a result, I am now practicing with 4 people every week making some great music. One of those people is my son-in-law, the jamming has brought us much closer together. The other three are wonderful, interesting, people I would never had know had I not decided to learn how to play the mandolin. Next year we are going to start doing a few small shows together, but even more exciting we are going to start busking. Something I have wanted to do for years.

Last year I knew two people who quit a jobs they could no longer endure. I know someone who landed a job of their dreams. I know someone who proved they were an ‘A’ student. I know someone who took a French class, someone who learned to swim. Big or small these were all new experiences.

So a new year is about to begin. The opportunities are truly endless. What are you going to do? My advise, do something new.

Oh ya, I also just got my Passport, man I think next year will be great.

“You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.”
Dr. Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!    

Gus

Leave a Reply

